A Useful Reference for ALL!

I finished reading Christopher Danielson’s (@Trianglemancsd) Common Core Math for Parents for Dummies book just yesterday.  It took me a while to get through it, which I think was partly because it wasn’t the most intriguing read for me.  Now that doesn’t mean I think this book is horrible!  Instead I think the EXACT OPPOSITE!  This book is a GREAT resource for anyone with kids or teachers grades K-12.  Now, I am a certified 7-12 mathematics teacher but that doesn’t mean I know the ins and outs of all things math or even the Common Core State Standards-Math (CCSSM).  That is why I recommend this to all K-12 teachers (that teach mathematics) and especially parents!

20150614_155828
Yup there are A LOT of tabs on that book! 11 to be exact.

This post is a quick write up of how I would (or plan to) use this resource in my current position.  I wrote this post while enduring a bad day at the beach.  A bad day at the beach for us who live here in Hawaii looks like this:

20150614_155809
Hamoa Beach, Hana, Maui

As for parents, you should read this resource to help you get a better idea of the how and why of what your child is learning in their math classes from grades K-12 and how you can help support a positive journey through learning mathematics.

As a resource teacher when I’ve worked with grade 3-5 teachers I’ve had teachers ask to have “training” to learn where their teaching of math gets applied beyond their 3-5 grade band.  After reading this book, I can see using this resource to provide a 1 day training, maybe even an ongoing book PLC where grade level teachers (K-8, maybe 9-12 too) could brush up on their grade level content standards.  In addition, teachers would engage in a conversation about how to approach teaching their grade level standards knowing where a standard comes from and goes to, previous grade level and post grade level.  This discussion is rooted in the Coherence shift of the CCSSM.

Other conversations that could be fostered, would be around the Standards for Mathematical Practice, domains of the CCSSM and/or specific topics that span CCSSM: linear equations , functions, arrays, etc.  This structure would work well for a course that would help teachers engage in the understanding of their content standards and span across a few sessions.  This would help teachers expand their knowledge of math beyond their grade level and feel more comfortable teaching at their grade level knowing where their students’ learning is coming from and going to.

Conversations and learning can most definitely be had around strategies of teaching concepts or even math strategies used.  These two could also be combined together and you could add in a bit of strategies in order to foster student discourse around these math strategies.  For example, on page 84 in the book

20150614_155846

I jotted a note in relation to a model and how might a teacher use it to teach a related topic.

20150614_155846

Allowing teachers to make connections between concepts within their grade level (horizontally) and between grade levels (vertically) addresses the Coherence shift again here.

When I started writing this post I had 2 ideas I wanted to share, however as I am writing it up more and more ideas are popping into my brain making connections to the two main ideas I started with.  I hope to mull these over more and since I said this post would be quick, I’ll leave it as is.  I hope I can make any of these ideas come to life sooner rather than later.  In the meantime, feel free to leave comments, feedback or updates on how you’ve used this resource.  In addition, feel free to contact me to have a more in depth conversation of how to use this resource

Lastly, MAHALO Christopher Danielson for providing us with a great resource to help support positive math teaching to students.

A Useful Reference for ALL!

Leave a Reply

