#TMC2015 Better LATE than NEVER!

So I’ve been hesitant about writing this one.  Not because I didn’t have an awesome time or because the time wasn’t well spent but because this time around I put myself in positions to really push myself personally in order to push myself professionally.  I’m not all that open about who I am in my personal life and this year’s conference put me in a place where I had to start doing that.

To start it all off I got to pick up my favorite and amazing colleague Mitzi Hasegawa at LAX.  While we were there we also picked up two more hitchhikers, Teresa and Megan. Chatty filled drive to the hotel to drop off our cargo and then get settled in at our adobe for the week (Mahalo Judy!).

It started Wed night with game night! What fun that was! I loved the environment of being able to mingle and just walk around, make new friends and also tackle hug old friends.  Thank you to all who helped support this night of casual fun!

Morning Session


Comings and Goings: Building a Shared Understanding of Math Education from K-Calculus (Tina Cardone, Jennifer Bell, Brian Bushart, Michael Pershan)

Go to meet and work with lots of new stars that I chat with often on Twitter. Had great convos around K-Calc progressions.  How and where to make connections and building ways to use models that span K-Calc content/courses.  For example: equivalence, distributive property (models for this), proportional reasoning, and much more.  Conversations were rich, thought provoking, and challenging.

Quick side note:

I’ve reflected on and thought a lot about the structure of the morning session.  One of the greatest things about this special session is we get to work as a group for 3 solid days on a big idea and actually produce some kind of product.  This doesn’t happen at any other conference I’ve attended and I very much love the focus this allows us teachers to have on improving our craft of teaching.  Mahalo again TMC team for this special morning session!

Thursday Keynote


Growing our own practice: How mathematics teachers can use social media to support on going improvement (Lani Horn)

I don’t need to say much about her because her work, book and research pretty much speak for her awesomeness! LANI HORN!!!! How amazing is she!!!!! Biggest take away for me from this talk was the discussion around classroom ecology.  The huge dynamics of classrooms and how these dynamics affect our teaching and students learning.  No joke I am still processing this information.

Thursday Afternoon Sessions


Accepting our Powerlessness in the Classroom (Megan Schmidt)

All I have to say is MAHALO to Megan for opening this up to me.  I needed this personally.  I cried my eyes out and totally pushed myself in so many ways at this conference starting with this session!  Not enough thanks to you Megan!

Half Hour of Cool (Sadie Estrella, that’s me!)

I was VERY nervous about this 30 min session I came up with on a whim by an idea John Golden gave to me on the day of the TMC submission deadline.  I had no presentation, no handouts, NOTHING! I had 7 measly index cards with norms, some guiding questions and a closure statement.

As more and more people filed in to be in my session the more nervous I was!!!!!  I mean people…..IT’S 30 MINS OF TALKING!!! YOU DON’T WANT TO COME HERE BELIEVE ME!

Everyone proved me wrong!  So many great stories were shared.  Memories of students and the weird stuff they do that drives us crazy but we also can’t live without. Those quirky awkward moments that stick in our brains forever.  These experiences only allowed to us because we take that crazy, psychotic decision to get paid less for more work, to be a 2nd parent, to have our lives consumed by these part human, part teenager alien students that we absolutely adore and could not see our lives without.

Therein lies the one of a kind experience that this profession has to offer and we got to honor that for 30 mins and take the much needed time to celebrate ourselves and our profession.  Mahalo to everyone who attended.  I am humbled by your commitment and passion!

Friday Keynote


Math from the Heart, Not the Textbook (Christopher Danielson)

Christopher Danielson is one of my favorite humans of all time! Such a thoughtful person.  This session reminded me that I need to go back in the classroom. He asked us all to find what we love and do more of it.  I cried a bunch during this session because his message is so down to earth and simple.  Be passionate about something and do more of it in your classroom with your students.  I asked myself this questions during this entire session and I can’t deny it that the thing I love to do the most is……

TEACH STUDENTS!!

(preferably Math but I’ll take anything)

Mahalo Christopher for reminding me about what which I am extremely passionate about…..TEACHING!!!

Friday Afternoon Sessions


Supporting Small Group Instruction with Math Workstations (Sadie Estrella & Mitzi Hasegawa)

Mitzi and I were excited to share out ideas.  We think it went really well.  We haven’t kept up on what we said we would provide for our attendees yes but I am hoping to catch up with that soon!  Sorry everyone!

Planning and Assess-Respond-Instruct Cycle in Mathematics (Michelle Naidu)

This session was kind of amazing!  I loved how this session deliberately addressed the needs of students.  The big idea was using workstations to make sure students had the previous knowledge before new learning was introduced.  It was very intentionally planned to addressed previous knowledge needed in order to get to the new content that needed to be taught.

Plus Michelle had some of the best cat videos!

Friday Night BBQ


Very fun, social, great food, and hosted by amazing, loving people!  Mahalo Jed, Matt, John, all their families, Mathalicious and the many others involved to get this event planned and happening!

Saturday Keynote


Teacher Woman, because Teacher Man is Taken (Fawn Nguyen)

There are no words to describe Fawn’s session.  I didn’t get to finish watching this whole presentation because I had to drive to the airport to fly home but the half of it I was there for I laughed, cried and was reminded what a strong role model for students should look like. I mean the woman has come so far personally and the way in which she leads by example is the most humbling.  I only wish that someday I’ll be able to be that role model for my students.  Fawn you inspire me to be a better me every single second of my life.  Mahalo for all the inspiration.

My TMC journey this year was an emotional rollercoaster.  However, it was time for me to be challenged in a different way than I have been putting myself in.  I am ready to go forth and take my learning journey with me.  Mahalo everyone for the great experiences, conversations and memories.  See you next year TINNISOTA!

#TMC2015 Better LATE than NEVER!

Leave a Reply

